Losing Your License In Texas
It's reasonably common for people in Texas who are convicted of crimes relating to their automobiles to lose their license. There are also circumstances that allow a driver's license to be revoked without any criminal acts. It's often possible to get a license back after a period of time or after fixing a medical problem, but that can sometimes be difficult to manage. It's best to stay informed about the risk of losing a license and plan accordingly.
People rarely think about how dangerous cars can be, even in the hands of a good driver. Certain medical problems can massively increase that danger for both the driver and everyone around him, so the state of Texas sometimes revokes licenses on medical grounds. The Texas Department of Public Safety handles the revocations with advice from the Medical Advisory Board. Individuals are referred to the Board by law enforcement officials, physicians, concerned citizens, or based on evaluations performed when the license is requested. The Board will request medical information as required to make its decision, which may lead to the loss of a driver's license. It's possible to request a hearing to contest the revocation.
It's fairly easy to reinstate a license after a medical revocation. It is possible once the medical problem has been treated such that it is no longer dangerous for the individual to drive.
Drunk driving is a serious crime, and conviction usually comes with a suspended license. The length of the suspension is variable, with limits based on the individual's age at the time of conviction. People who are over the age of 21 can lose their license for up to two years. People who are younger than 21 can lose their license for up to one year plus 180 days for people who do not complete the Alcohol Education Program and an addition ninety days for people who need to get an ignition interlock and complete community service.
Drivers can apply to have their license reinstated after their suspension period ends.
Texas can suspend a driver's license as a penalty for committing several small violation, even if those violations do not warrant that penalty individually. Four moving traffic violations within a period of 12 months or seven within 24 months can lead to a suspension. Drivers can request a hearing to contest the suspension as long as they do so within 20 days.
Texas also uses a point system for driving records. Traffic violations can add points to an individual's record, and anyone who has more than six points has to pay a yearly fee. Failure to pay that fee will result in a suspension. Some drivers may be able to attend a traffic school after receiving a ticket in order to prevent the points from going on their record.
These suspensions can last anywhere from 90 days to 2 years, and the license can be reinstated after the period ends.
Lack of Insurance
Texas requires drivers to have insurance to cover the costs of accidents. People who drive without insurance and get into an accident that involves a death, injury, or at least $1000 dollars of property damage can have their license suspended. It can also be suspended in response to two traffic stops without insurance or the Department of Public Safety receiving notice that an individual canceled their insurance policy. The suspension can be appealed at a hearing, and the license can be reinstated if the driver can provide proof that they have acquired adequate insurance.